Sharing is Caring

Ethiopia is made up of regional states, chartered cities, districts, zones and wards.

There are nine regional states which are based on ethnic boundaries. These are as listed below:

  • Oromia Regional State – homeland of Oromo; 
  • Somalia Regional State– Homeland of Somalia people of Ethiopia; capital is Jijiga; 
  • Afar Regional State – home of Afar People with City of Semera as regional headquarters;
  • Tigray Regional State  – homeland of Tigrayan, Kunama and Irob people; Its capital is Mekelle; 
  • Amhara Regional State – Homeland of Amhara people; Its capital is Bahir Dar; population of 17 million people; 
  • Gambela Regional State – capital Gambela; historic home of Anuak (Indigenous people); Nuer is spoken as the first language while other residents specak Amharic, Anuak, Majang and Afaan Oromoo;  
  • Southern Nations Regional State  – This is the home of Ilemi Triangle which was being claimed by both South Sudan and Kenya; this is home to 45 indigenous ethnic communities; 
  • Benishangul-Gumuz Regional State – Capital is Assosa; no proper transport and communication infrastructure in the region; 
  • Harari Regional State – capital is Harar. Oromo and Harari are spoken here. 

The nine (9) regional states of Ethiopia have the power to mobilize and spend resources. They are semi-autonomous.

The 9 regions are then divided into 68 zones.  

There are two self-governing regions in Ethiopia. These are: Dire Dawa and Addis Ababa.

The Prime Minister of Ethiopia is nominated by parliament while the President of Ethiopia is elected the House of People’s representative.

Ethiopia’s Council of Ministers is currently made up of 20 members.

Ilemi Triangle

November 23, 2019


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)