Sharing is Caring

Manchester United’s likely opponents in the Europa League

Manchester United is among the 48 teams that will participate in the UEFA Europa League this season.

The teams participating will be grouped into 12 groups with 4 teams each. Arsenal is the only team that United will not face because UEFA rules indicate that teams from the same association should not be grouped together. United will also not face Wolves should it overcome Torino Fc in the playoffs.

The Red Devils have been placed in pot 1 alongside:

Besiktas (Turkey)

Sevilla (Spain)

Dynamo Kyiv (Ukraine)

Arsenal (England)

Porto (Portugal)

Roma (Italy)

Sporting Lisbon (Portugal)

CSKA Moscow (Russia)

Basel FC (Switzerland).

United will not face any of the above opponents.

There will be more teams in the pot once all playoff matches are done this week, with 21 playoff winners joining the 17 already qualified. The remaining 10 group stage places will be filled by the ten teams that will not have qualified for the Champions League via the third qualifying round and playoffs.

Manchester United could face the following teams:
Getafe (Spain)

Lazio (Italy)

Borussia Monchengladbach (Germany)

Wolfsburg (Germany)

Rennes (France)

Saint Etienne (France)

FC Olexandria (Ukraine)

Standard Liege (Belgium)

Wolfsberger AC (Austria)

FC Lugano (Switzerland)

The Europa league group stage matches are expected to start on 19th September.

UEFA Europa League
Sharing is Caring:

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Skip to toolbar