Forms of Decentralization

Sharing is Caring

Forms of Decentralization

There are four main forms of decentralization in the world. Decentralization in Kenya takes the form of devolution which is regarded by some authors as the purest form of decentralization. 

  1. Devolution: This involves transfer of authority and resources from the central government to the lower level units of government. Under devolution, the decentralized units enjoy more autonomy.
  2. De-concentration: This is the transfer of authority and responsibility from the central government to the agency’s field officers at various levels. For instance, transfer of authority from the Ministry of Health to field officers of the same Ministry located at various levels.
  3. Delegation: Responsibility and authority are transferred from central agencies to organizations not directly under the direction and control of those agencies. For instance, NGOs and local governments.
  4. 4) Privatization or contracting: This is a form of decentralization which is constantly being embraced in the public sector. Specific services are purchased from the private sector. Contracting has been praised for promoting public private partnerships.

Read More: Protestors leave a trail of destruction in Hongkong

Sharing is Caring:




Geoffrey Kerosi is a prolific Kenyan writer based in Nairobi City. He holds a Bachelors in Economics and Statistics and is currently pursuing Masters in Public Policy and Administration (MPPA) from Kenyatta University. Email: Whatsapp: +254713 639 776 YouTube: Kerosi TV

One thought on “Forms of Decentralization”

Comments are closed.

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Skip to toolbar