Functions of Counties and National Government in Kenya

Sharing is Caring

The Forth Schedule of the Constitution of Kenya 2010 clearly defines the functions of the counties and national governments. At first, it was confusing to an extent that the counties performed functions that were supposed to be performed by the National government. A good example was security. A number of counties purchase motor vehicles for use by the security forces.
The table below clearly indicates the various functions of the counties and national government in Kenya.

No.  Function Government Responsible 
1.  Police  National
2.  Primary Education  National
3.  Veterinary Services  County 
4 Housing Policy  National 
5 Public Road Transport  County 
6 Ambulance Services  County 
7 Healthy Policy National 
8 Courts  National 
9 Control of Drugs  County 
11 Pre-Primary Education County 
12 Energy Policy  National 
13 Housing  County 
14 Agricultural Policy  National 
15 Markets  County 
16 Water and Sanitation  County 
17 Wildlife Protection  National 

Now you know who should do which functions at the two levels of government. I would love to hear your opinion on the following: 

Who should collect taxes at the Wilson and JKIA airports as well as Betting and Gaming? Is the National government or the County? 

Share your thought in the comments. 

Sharing is Caring:




Geoffrey Kerosi, economic and public policy analyst based in Nairobi City. Email: WhatsApp: +254713 639 776 YouTube: Kerosi TV

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Skip to toolbar