Signing Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA)

Sharing is Caring

Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA)

Economic Partnership Agreement is an agreement to remove taxes and duties for products from East Africa Community (EAC) member countries.

Kenya has signed and ratified the Economic Partnership Agreement. Uganda and Rwanda have just signed but not ratified. Burundi and Tanzania have not signed the agreement at all.

Tanzania has made excuses that she has to conduct her own research first to find out what will be the impact of the agreement on trade.

Burundi is not signing the EPA in protect against the trade embargo slapped on her. This was put in place after the country started experiencing political struggles. 

East Africa‚Äôs largest export market currently is Europe. 

The leading import countries for East Africa Community members are: China, India and European Union.

Upon signing the EPA, East Africa will lose $45 million in welfare while EU will have a $212 million gain in welfare.

In 2016, the majority of Tanzanian lawmakers voted against signing of the EPA.

Follow me on Twitter @gkerosi 

Read More:

(Visited 36 times, 1 visits today)
Sharing is Caring:




Geoffrey Kerosi is a prolific Kenyan writer based in Nairobi City. Email: Skype: gkerosi Whatsapp: +254713 639 776 YouTube: Kerosi TV

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Skip to toolbar